Tags

, , , , , ,

Hello and welcome to December.  My oh my is there a ton of stuff happening this time of year.  Shopping, oh yes there is shopping.  Wrapping, and wrapping and wrapping.  That is unless you have done as myself and copped out.  I now use Christmas bags made of a vinyl/plastic combination.  I tell myself I am preserving the natural resources i.e. trees, but to be perfectly honest, I am saving time and energy. (This getting old is for the birds!)

As if the holidays are not a huge part of this time of year, there is making time and coordinating schedules with friends and family.  This can be kind of tricky in these crazy busy times, but I make it a priority.

And then there is the end of the year stuff between Christmas and New Years.  And what do I mean.  Closing out billing for work, and personal tax preparations to go the the tax guy on time.  Ugh!

Then I have to think about what resolution(s) I plan to make and how long I will keep it until I break it.  Usually it lasts less than 24 hours.   Maybe this year will be different.  After all, resolutions are so that we can improve as a person, right?  Oh the change is so hard!  Even if it is beneficial.

Oh and then there is the money bag.  Yes Grandma, that one is for you!  Tradition in my family includes making a money bag right after the 112 midnight chime on the clock between New Years Eve and New Years Day.  What is a money bag?  It is a holder of sorts for an unknown amount of loose coins.  The key is that it needs to be unknown.  In days gone by, I have had stiched pouches from fabric scraps of my favorite outfit that my mother made for me.  Today, I fold up a kleenex and fill it and then tape it closed.  Not just closed.  I run tape all the way around it to seal it from the world and myself (so it is not so easy to get into!) The purpose of the money bag is to keep from going broke all year.  Yes, by having a brand new, created and filled as the new year starts, I will not be broke all that year.  Does it work?  Well, let’s just say I do not want to take a chance that it might.

Seriously though, all superstitions aside, I like to do it because I feel closer to what was fun and what I looked forward to when I was a child.  These were the days of innocence that are long gone.  Harsh real life realities have taken over, as occurs with all post childhood people. (For some that is in their late teens or early 20’s.  For others, well, let’s just say, they have not reached it yet and they are in their 50’s and older  🙂  )  Is not traditions the fun part of the holidays?

Since I have matured, gotten past the childhood stage, and feel some days like I am rapidly slipping into the later adulthood years, (second childhood?  Maybe!) it seems that tradition is more and more important to pass on.  Things like baking Jesus a birthday cake, making cinnamon rolls for Christmas morning breakfast, putting tooth brushes in the stockings, and writing out the thank you cards to snail mail to the generous people that have given me gifts.

OK, so this it the tech-y age.  (My son is shaking his head back and forth faster than a wet dog after reading the snail mail part.)  Time to move on.  I just can not get past the snail mail card versus the quickie email.  The quickie email just seems so impersonal.

So, onto the most important part of this time of year.

Jesus.

Not just his birthday cake, but the whole ReaSon for the SeaSon!  I just heard today that Jesus was born so he could die for us.  Think about that.  Being born with the sole purpose of dying.  And He was not dying for Himself, He was dying for me and you.  I started thinking about that, and started crying.  Yep.  Coming back from Fort Wayne on this dreary, overcast, gray day, driving east on US 24 and crying.  (Wasn’t that a pretty site!)  Now I know that Jesus has saved my soul from everlasting torture and damnation.  But to think, that He came here, lived for 33 perfect years in this fallen world, just so He could go through all the pain, torture and agony physically as well as the emotional toll it had to have taken as well, for people like me and you that had not even been thought of yet.  (2000+ years is a lot of great’s before the grandparents part.)  And to make this even more unbelievable, during the time Jesus lived, the Gentile people were a second class citizen so to speak.  So to recap:  Jesus is created, gets born, lives in a corrupt world, and then dies for a second class person like me.   WOW!!!!!

Why would he do this?  One word.  Love.  Yepper.  That’s it.  As we are all familiar with John 3:16 – “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that who so ever believes in Him, should not parish, but have everlasting life.”  (No torture and damnation!  Wooooo Whooooooo! )

So this is the time of year, the SeaSon if you will, when it all starts.  It may temporarily end on Easter, but the blessing starts NOW!

So, lets all join in now, make up our minds to look for the blessing and not the “stuff” that this seaSon brings, to cut out that which stresses us to the max (like getting the wrapping done) and kick back, enjoy the traditions that make us feel all warm and fuzzy like when we were children.  Then hit the floor with our knees and thank God for the biggest, most generous gift of all:  His Son!

I have something to share with all of you.  It was shared with me first.  It is a You Tube video, little over 5 minutes long.  There are many versions to this, but this version is, in my opinion, the supreme version.  The works are printed below the video too.  Enjoy and God bless you and yours during this seaSon and always.

Until the next time……

http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54492_296_C3DDCADCDA17A344859CD5A4E78EDC62

Don’t forget to check out the You Tube video next!

Cloverton Hallelujah

Published on Dec 21, 2013

I’ve heard about this baby boy
Who’s come to earth to bring us joy
And I just want to sing this song to you
It goes like this, the fourth, the fifth
The minor fall, the major lift
With every breath I’m singing Hallelujah
Hallelujah

A couple came to Bethlehem
Expecting child, they searched the inn
To find a place for You were coming soon
There was no room for them to stay
So in a manger filled with hay
God’s only Son was born, oh Hallelujah
Hallelujah

The shepherds left their flocks by night
To see this baby wrapped in light
A host of angels led them all to You
It was just as the angels said
You’ll find Him in a manger bed
Immanuel and Savior, Hallelujah
Hallelujah

A star shown bright up in the east
To Bethlehem, the wisemen three
Came many miles and journeyed long for You
And to the place at which You were
Their frankincense and gold and myrrh
They gave to You and cried out Hallelujah
Hallelujah

I know You came to rescue me
This baby boy would grow to be
A man and one day die for me and you
My sins would drive the nails in You
That rugged cross was my cross, too
Still every breath You drew was Hallelujah
Hallelujah

hark the heard angels sing card

